Breaking free

Action is character.

F. Scott Fitzgerald

After nearly 10 years of trying to break out of Florida, it looks as though I am about to make it. When I say break out, I mean it – I’m not moving back to the Northeast (my homeland), or even to the groovy Pacific Northwest. Nope. After falling in love with the kindest, smartest, and best guy I know, I’m heading back with him to his hometown, Lima, Peru.

This move is so monumental and so outright unexpected for me that I’ve decided to blog about it. How does one pack up 33 years of life in the U.S. and ship it to South America? How will I get my cats there? Will I find a job? How the heck am I going to get my rusty Spanish up to par? How will this gringa fit in?

Right now our plans are a little bit murky, but we’re 95% sure we’re heading south in July 2013. I’m starting this blog as a travelogue/diary, hoping that it will prove to be an enjoyable way to document things that I never want to forget. I’ve been tired of the boring American day-to-day grind for a while now, and am really excited to head off on an awesome adventure with the love of my life. Here we go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel & Tribulations

Leave a comment